Computers/Networking can make you go crazy!

So I’ve got a wireless router setup at home.  It is a Belkin N wireless router.  I’ve had the thing for about 2 months and never had a problem.  Guess what happened this week?  You guessed it; I’ve got a problem with my router.  I have a 10 Mbps (megs) download speed from Charter Communications (yeah, I hate Charter too but they’ve got the speed!), but recently I was only getting about 1 meg.  So I contact Charter and they say everything is fine on their end and my modem signal is strong.  They say try bypassing the router.  So I do and guess what?  I get my 10 meg speed back!  So my slow internet connection is due to something going on with my router.  So great, I’ve got the problem narrowed down and now I can solve the problem, right?  Well, of course not!

So next I naturally reset my router to its factory settings and reinstall it in with my system setup.  Now of course everything should be good, right?  Wrong!  I still have a 1 meg download speed.  Just to be sure I disconnect the router and just have my modem go directly to my computer and yes, there is my 10 meg speed back again.  So the problem is with my router, which worked perfectly for 2 months until a week ago, and it doesn’t properly at all anymore.  What could have possibly changed with the router?!  So I’m about ready to throw the router off my roof just so I could hear the sound it would make when it met the pavement!

Anybody have a solution to my problem?

Test your internet connection speed here

2 Responses to Computers/Networking can make you go crazy!

  1. Vicki Sauter says:

    Try doing a search of the internet for this problem. In particular, look for a forum associated with your particular modem.

  2. Also, we need to determine the rounds of the quiz according to it.
    * Team answer sheets – Basically a grid lined A4
    type sheet with answer write in numbered boxes and
    a line on top for the team name. Ask your local club to run this for you.

Leave a comment